No Struggle, No Progress

NAACP Vote Questioned

On Saturday, November 19, 2022, the NAACP Monroe/Ouachita local chapter, held an election for officers. Several candidates were vying to unseat current president, Rev. Ambrose Douzart. Initial results of the votes showed that Rev. Douzart won with 35 votes, while Rev. Tharris Bishop, 10 votes, Mrs. Lynetta Whitehurst, 16 votes, and Ms. Marie Brown, 24 votes. That number of votes tallied is different from the total number of members in the local branch, perhaps indicating that many members did not cast their vote. An official complaint is in the process of being filed with the national office o...


Reader Comments(0)